Managing Releases

Releases List

Releases are how you can release new versions of your products to your customers. Learn more about creating releases here.

Overview

All of the releases for your products appear on this screen. This includes the initial release for your product, as well as all the subsequent releases. You can use the Screen Options tab to customize the display of this screen.

You can narrow the list by status using the text links at the top of the screen. You can also filter the list to only show releases for a certain product. Only products that have licensing enabled will appear on this list. Additionally, the releases can be qualified by type.

The search box lets you look for a particular release by searching through the changelogs. You can find a release by version by prefixing your search with v. For example searching with v1.5 will find all releases with the version number 1.5

Actions

To view more details about a release, click the View link.

You’ll also notice there is no way to delete releases. This is intentional. If you need to stop a release from going out, you should use the pause feature.

Release Details

Every release has its own detail page. From here you can edit release information, view update statistics, and send notifications to non-updated customers.

Overview

 

The Manage Release screen displays detailed information about a release. Across the top of the screen is the product’s name and the version of the release. In the top right hand corner, the release’s status is represented by a color. Hovering over the color reveals the textual description of the status.

A release can have a status of draftactivepaused or archived.

The type of the release, majorminorsecurity or pre-release is displayed in the type section. If the release has been published, the release date is displayed. This is followed by the version number of the release.

The changelog for a release is displayed in the What’s Changed section. This shouldn’t contain the release date or version number as these will be automatically added to the compiled changelog.

Finally, for non-draft releases, a summary of the updates completed is displayed, as well as a link to notify users who haven’t yet upgraded to the latest release.

Release Statuses

Draft

Draft mode is your staging ground for new releases. These releases aren’t yet available to be downloaded. At this time, you can edit the type of release by clicking the release type and selecting a new release. You can also change the version number by clicking on the version number in the version box. Additionally, the download file can be replaced by clicking the Replacebutton. Finally, to edit the release’s changelog just click the text, enter your changes, and click the save button. To release the new version, hover over the status indicator, and change the release’s status to Active. This will update the version number of the product, and will update the download file made available to new customers as well.

Active

Active releases are available to your customers to update to. When a release is active, all update records are kept allowing you to notify customers who haven’t yet updated to that version. As such, just because a release is active, does not mean it is the latest release available. When a release is active, the only thing that can be edited is the changelog. If the update file needs to be changed, you should pause this release and create a new one.

Paused

When a release is paused, the version number and download file is reverted to the latest active release. When a customer goes to update their install, they will receive the latest active release, not the paused release. Paused releases can’t be reactivated, instead you should create a new minor release and bump the version number.

Archived

Full update data is kept for the latest 10 releases – this exact number can be controlled via a filter. After that, the release will be automatically archived. Archived releases aggregate the update data to save database space. After a release has been archived, you can no longer notify customers who haven’t updated.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk